Model Tracker
GPT-Audio
GPT-Audio is an AI model made by OpenAI. It is deprecated. It takes text, audio and returns text, audio. Its context window is 128,000 tokens.
GPT-Audio is an AI model made by OpenAI. It is deprecated. It takes text, audio and returns text, audio. Its context window is 128,000 tokens. Its longest answer is 16,384 tokens. Its knowledge cutoff is 1 October 2023.
- Released
- Not confirmed: The model page calls it generally available but does not state when it first became available. A dated snapshot is not a stated first-availability date.
- Status
- Deprecated — developers.openai.com, read 19 October 2026
- Takes
- Text, Audio — developers.openai.com, read 19 October 2026
- Returns
- Text, Audio — developers.openai.com, read 19 October 2026
- Open weights
- Not confirmed: The maker's model page does not state whether the weights are open.
- Licence
- Not confirmed: The maker's model page does not name a licence.
- Context window
- 128,000 tokens — developers.openai.com, read 19 October 2026
- Longest answer
- 16,384 tokens — developers.openai.com, read 19 October 2026
- Knowledge cutoff
- 1 October 2023 — developers.openai.com, read 19 October 2026
- API price, input
- Not confirmed: The model page lists separate input prices for text tokens ($2.50 per 1M tokens) and audio tokens ($32.00 per 1M tokens), but the register has no modality-specific price field, so a single input price cannot be confirmed.
- API price, output
- Not confirmed: The model page lists separate output prices for text tokens ($10.00 per 1M tokens) and audio tokens ($64.00 per 1M tokens), but the register has no modality-specific price field, so a single output price cannot be confirmed.
- Where
- API — developers.openai.com, read 19 October 2026
- Parameters
- Not confirmed: The maker's model page does not publish a parameter count.
- Model card
- Not confirmed: The maker's pages consulted do not identify a model card or system card for GPT-Audio; the model page itself is not identified as either.
Questions
Is GPT-Audio still available?
It is deprecated: OpenAI has announced the date it will retire it.
What is the context window of GPT-Audio?
The context window of GPT-Audio is 128,000 tokens, as OpenAI prints it.
What does GPT-Audio take and return?
GPT-Audio takes text, audio and returns text, audio.
What is the knowledge cutoff of GPT-Audio?
The knowledge cutoff of GPT-Audio is 1 October 2023.
More from OpenAI
- ada
- babbage
- babbage-002
- code-davinci-002
- computer-use-preview
- curie
- dall-e-3
- DALL·E
- DALL·E 2
- davinci
- davinci-002
- GPT-3.5 Turbo
- GPT-3.5 Turbo Instruct
- GPT-4
- GPT-4 Turbo
- GPT-4.1
- GPT-4.1 mini
- GPT-4.1 nano
- GPT-4.5
- GPT-4.5 Preview
- GPT-4o
- GPT-4o mini
- GPT-4o Mini Search Preview
- GPT-4o Mini Transcribe
Sources
- GPT-Audio Model | OpenAI API (read 19 October 2026)
- Deprecations | OpenAI API (read 19 October 2026)