Skip to content
AI.info

Model Tracker

davinci

davinci is an AI model made by OpenAI. It is retired. OpenAI retired it on 4 January 2024. It takes text and returns text.

OpenAI

Released
Not confirmed: The maker's pages reviewed date the GPT-3/API family, but do not state a first-availability date specifically for the davinci model.
Status
Retired — developers.openai.com, read 16 October 2026
Retired
4 January 2024 — developers.openai.com, read 16 October 2026
Takes
Text — openai.com, read 16 October 2026
Returns
Text — openai.com, read 16 October 2026
Open weights
No — openai.com, read 16 October 2026
Licence
Not confirmed: No licence name for davinci is printed on the maker's pages reviewed.
Context window
Not confirmed: No standard context-window value specifically for davinci is printed on the maker's pages reviewed.
Longest answer
Not confirmed: No standard maximum-output value specifically for davinci is printed on the maker's pages reviewed.
Knowledge cutoff
Not confirmed: No knowledge-cutoff date specifically for davinci is printed on the maker's pages reviewed; training-data dates are not a stated knowledge cutoff.
API price, input
Not confirmed: The deprecations page prints one deprecated-model price for davinci ($20.00 / 1M tokens), but does not specify an input price separately.
API price, output
Not confirmed: The deprecations page prints one deprecated-model price for davinci ($20.00 / 1M tokens), but does not specify an output price separately.
Where
API — github.com, read 16 October 2026
Parameters
Not confirmed: The maker's pages reviewed do not print a parameter count specifically identifying davinci.
Model card
https://github.com/openai/gpt-3/blob/master/model-card.md — github.com, read 16 October 2026

Questions

Is davinci still available?

No: OpenAI retired davinci on 4 January 2024.

Are the weights of davinci open?

No: OpenAI does not publish the weights of davinci.

What does davinci take and return?

davinci takes text and returns text.

More from OpenAI

Sources

  1. Deprecations | OpenAI API (read 16 October 2026)
  2. OpenAI API (read 16 October 2026)
  3. gpt-3/model-card.md (read 16 October 2026)

All of the Model Tracker