Skip to content
AI.info

Model Tracker

DALL·E

DALL·E is an AI model made by OpenAI. OpenAI released it on 5 January 2021. It takes text, image and returns image.

OpenAI

Released
5 January 2021 — openai.com, read 16 October 2026
Status
Not confirmed: The maker's page introduces the research model but does not state its current status or say that this original model is currently served or retired.
Takes
Text, Image — openai.com, read 16 October 2026
Returns
Image — openai.com, read 16 October 2026
Open weights
Not confirmed: The maker's page does not state whether the model weights are open or downloadable.
Licence
Not confirmed: The maker's page does not name a licence for the model.
Context window
Not confirmed: The maker's page is not a model card or API documentation, the sources specified for this field.
Longest answer
Not confirmed: The maker's page does not print a standard maximum output-token limit.
Knowledge cutoff
Not confirmed: The maker's page does not state a knowledge cutoff.
API price, input
Not confirmed: The maker's page does not list a standard API input-token price for the original DALL·E model.
API price, output
Not confirmed: The maker's page does not list a standard API output-token price for the original DALL·E model.
Where
Not confirmed: The maker's page does not specify availability through the register's categories: API, consumer app, downloadable weights, or cloud marketplaces.
Parameters
12,000,000,000 parameters — openai.com, read 16 October 2026
Model card
Not confirmed: The maker's page links to a research paper, but does not identify a model card or system card for the original DALL·E model.

Questions

When was DALL·E released?

OpenAI released DALL·E on 5 January 2021.

What does DALL·E take and return?

DALL·E takes text, image and returns image.

How many parameters does DALL·E have?

DALL·E has 12,000,000,000 parameters parameters, as OpenAI publishes it.

More from OpenAI

Sources

  1. DALL·E: Creating images from text (read 16 October 2026)

All of the Model Tracker