Model Tracker
Grok 3 mini
Grok 3 mini is an AI model made by xAI. xAI released it on 19 February 2025. It is generally available. It takes text and returns text.
Grok 3 mini is an AI model made by xAI. xAI released it on 19 February 2025. It is generally available. It takes text and returns text. Its context window is 131,072 tokens.
- Released
- 19 February 2025 — x.ai, read 16 October 2026
- Status
- Generally available — docs.x.ai, read 16 October 2026
- Takes
- Text — docs.x.ai, read 16 October 2026
- Returns
- Text — docs.x.ai, read 16 October 2026
- Open weights
- Not confirmed: The reviewed official announcement and model documentation do not state whether Grok 3 mini weights are open or downloadable.
- Licence
- Not confirmed: No licence name for Grok 3 mini weights is stated in the reviewed official pages.
- Context window
- 131,072 tokens — docs.x.ai, read 19 October 2026
- Longest answer
- Not confirmed: No standard maximum output-token limit specific to Grok 3 mini is stated in the reviewed official pages.
- Knowledge cutoff
- Not confirmed: No knowledge-cutoff date for Grok 3 mini is stated in the reviewed official pages.
- API price, input
- Not confirmed: The current official pricing page does not list Grok 3 mini. The API reference example shows token-price fields but does not state a standard per-1M-token price in a usable currency and unit, so no conversion is made.
- API price, output
- Not confirmed: The current official pricing page does not list Grok 3 mini. The API reference example shows token-price fields but does not state a standard per-1M-token price in a usable currency and unit, so no conversion is made.
- Where
- API — docs.x.ai, read 16 October 2026
- Parameters
- Not confirmed: No parameter count for Grok 3 mini is published in the reviewed official pages.
- Model card
- Not confirmed: The reviewed official pages do not identify a Grok 3 mini model card or system card.
Benchmarks
Measured by others, not by the maker: each score with the name the measurer gives the model and the setting it ran, its day and its licence.
Arena
- Text Arena, grok-3-mini-high: 1,364 (1,358–1,369, 15,596 votes), published 15 October 2026
Arena’s leaderboard dataset (lmarena-ai/leaderboard-dataset on Hugging Face), CC BY 4.0: ratings from people’s votes between two anonymous models, as Arena publishes them. Data · CC BY 4.0
Epoch AI
- Epoch Capabilities Index, Grok-3 mini: 140.3 (137.6–142.2), as of 19 October 2026
- GPQA Diamond, grok-3-mini-beta_low: 76.3% (± 3.0), run 10 April 2025
- GPQA Diamond, grok-3-mini-beta_high: 75.5% (± 2.8), run 26 May 2025
- OTIS Mock AIME 2024–2025, grok-3-mini-beta_high: 77.8% (± 6.3), run 10 April 2025
- OTIS Mock AIME 2024–2025, grok-3-mini-beta_low: 62.2% (± 7.3), run 10 April 2025
Epoch AI, ‘Capabilities & benchmarking’, epoch.ai/benchmarks, CC BY 4.0: Epoch AI’s own runs and its Capabilities Index. Data · CC BY 4.0
Questions
When was Grok 3 mini released?
xAI released Grok 3 mini on 19 February 2025.
Is Grok 3 mini still available?
Yes: it is generally available, as xAI states it.
What is the context window of Grok 3 mini?
The context window of Grok 3 mini is 131,072 tokens, as xAI prints it.
What does Grok 3 mini take and return?
Grok 3 mini takes text and returns text.
More from xAI
- Grok 3
- Grok 3 (Think)
- Grok 3 mini (Think)
- Grok 4
- Grok 4 Fast
- Grok 4 Heavy
- Grok 4.1
- Grok 4.1 Fast
- Grok 4.20
- Grok 4.20 Multi-Agent Beta
- Grok 4.3
- Grok 4.5
- Grok 4.6
- Grok 4.7
- Grok Build 0.1
- Grok Code Fast 1
- Grok Imagine Image 2.0
- Grok Imagine Video 1.5
- Grok Voice 1.0
- Grok Voice 2.0
- Grok Voice 3.0
- Grok-1
- Grok-1.5V
- Grok-2
Sources
- Grok 3 Beta — The Age of Reasoning Agents (read 16 October 2026)
- Release Notes (read 16 October 2026)
- Accounts and Authorization | Management API - REST API Reference (read 16 October 2026)
- May 15, 2026 Model Retirement (read 16 October 2026)
- Grok Models & Pricing (read 16 October 2026)
- API Pricing (read 16 October 2026)
- Accounts and Authorization (read 19 October 2026)