Skip to content
AI.info

Model Tracker

DeepSeek-V4-Flash

DeepSeek-V4-Flash is an AI model made by DeepSeek AI. DeepSeek AI released it on 24 April 2026. It is retired. DeepSeek AI retired it on 10 September 2026.

DeepSeek AI

DeepSeek-V4-Flash is an AI model made by DeepSeek AI. DeepSeek AI released it on 24 April 2026. It is retired. DeepSeek AI retired it on 10 September 2026. It takes text and returns text. Its context window is 1,000,000 tokens. Its weights are open. Its licence is MIT License.

Released
24 April 2026 — fe-static.deepseek.com, read 16 October 2026
Status
Retired — api-docs.deepseek.com, read 16 October 2026
Retired
10 September 2026 — api-docs.deepseek.com, read 16 October 2026
Takes
Text — fe-static.deepseek.com, read 16 October 2026
Returns
Text — fe-static.deepseek.com, read 16 October 2026
Open weights
Yes — api-docs.deepseek.com, read 16 October 2026
Licence
MIT License — fe-static.deepseek.com, read 16 October 2026
Context window
1,000,000 tokens — fe-static.deepseek.com, read 16 October 2026
Longest answer
Not confirmed: The maker's model card does not state a standard maximum output limit for DeepSeek-V4-Flash. The current model-list documentation gives a limit for DeepSeek-V4.1-Flash, the successor, not this retired model.
Knowledge cutoff
Not confirmed: No reviewed maker page or model card states a knowledge-cutoff date for DeepSeek-V4-Flash.
API price, input
Not confirmed: The current pricing page prices DeepSeek-V4.1-Flash, and the maker says the retired deepseek-v4-flash name is routed to V4.1-Flash. It does not state a current standard input price for the retired model itself.
API price, output
Not confirmed: The current pricing page prices DeepSeek-V4.1-Flash, and the maker says the retired deepseek-v4-flash name is routed to V4.1-Flash. It does not state a current standard output price for the retired model itself.
Where
Not confirmed: two readings disagree: api, app, weights and api, weights
Parameters
Not confirmed: The maker's pages conflict: the V4 release announcement states 284B total parameters for Flash, while the V4 model card states 285B. No single value can be confirmed from these pages.
Model card
https://fe-static.deepseek.com/chat/transparency/deepseek-V4-model-card-EN.pdf — fe-static.deepseek.com, read 16 October 2026

Benchmarks

Measured by others, not by the maker: each score with the name the measurer gives the model and the setting it ran, its day and its licence.

Arena

Arena’s leaderboard dataset (lmarena-ai/leaderboard-dataset on Hugging Face), CC BY 4.0: ratings from people’s votes between two anonymous models, as Arena publishes them. Data · CC BY 4.0

Epoch AI

Epoch AI, ‘Capabilities & benchmarking’, epoch.ai/benchmarks, CC BY 4.0: Epoch AI’s own runs and its Capabilities Index. Data · CC BY 4.0

Questions

When was DeepSeek-V4-Flash released?

DeepSeek AI released DeepSeek-V4-Flash on 24 April 2026.

Is DeepSeek-V4-Flash still available?

No: DeepSeek AI retired DeepSeek-V4-Flash on 10 September 2026.

What is the context window of DeepSeek-V4-Flash?

The context window of DeepSeek-V4-Flash is 1,000,000 tokens, as DeepSeek AI prints it.

Are the weights of DeepSeek-V4-Flash open?

Yes: DeepSeek AI publishes the weights of DeepSeek-V4-Flash for download.

What is the licence of DeepSeek-V4-Flash?

The licence of DeepSeek-V4-Flash is MIT License, as DeepSeek AI names it.

What does DeepSeek-V4-Flash take and return?

DeepSeek-V4-Flash takes text and returns text.

More from DeepSeek AI

Sources

  1. Change Log (read 16 October 2026)
  2. DeepSeek V4 Preview Release (read 16 October 2026)
  3. DeepSeek V4 - Model Card (read 16 October 2026)
  4. Models & Pricing (read 16 October 2026)

All of the Model Tracker