The Pulse
Kuaishou Launches Kling 4.0 With Single-Pass 30-Second Video
Kuaishou says Kling 4.0 officially launched on October 15, adding single-pass video generation up to 30 seconds and expanded reference controls. The company has not specified in its launch announcement which regions or subscription tiers ca

AI.info Team · Written with AI ·
Kuaishou says Kling 4.0 officially launched on October 15 with a headline capability that pushes beyond short AI-generated clips: videos up to 30 seconds in a single generation. But the rollout arrives with qualifications. Kling AI’s earlier product announcement described early access followed by a wider October rollout, and its materials still label some features—including 4K and 1080p HDR output—as coming soon.
The company’s October 16 release presents Kling 4.0 as a tool aimed at professional video work, emphasizing motion control, longer shots and reusable visual references. It does not specify which countries, subscription tiers or users can access every feature at launch. That leaves a gap between the model’s advertised capabilities and the practical details creators need to plan a production workflow.
Thirty seconds in one generation
Kling 4.0 generates video up to 30 seconds long in one pass, Kuaishou says. The model is designed to keep action and camera movement continuous across longer takes, rather than requiring creators to stitch together a series of shorter generated clips. The company also says it has improved handling of high-speed movement and complex camera work, including tracking and orbit shots.
Prompt inputs can reach 8,000 tokens, according to the launch release, giving users more room to describe a scene and its direction. Kling AI’s September 30 product announcement also describes support for as many as 10 keyframe images, which can define visual moments and guide changes in poses, expressions and scenes.
Fifteen references, with limits on each type
The upgraded Omni Reference tool can combine up to 15 reference assets in one task. Kuaishou breaks that total down as up to 10 images, five videos and seven subjects; those category limits do not mean a user can supply 15 assets of any one kind. Kling AI’s product post says the reference mix can include a specified voice for a subject, while Kuaishou describes combinations of images, videos, subjects and voices.
The company says video extension will support repeated additions up to a total of two minutes, but its launch release describes that capability as forthcoming. The distinction matters: a 30-second single-pass generation is presented as a current feature, while a two-minute extended sequence is not yet described as generally available.
Some production specifications are still pending
Kling AI’s September 30 product announcement says the 21:9 ultrawide format “is also supported,” but lists 10-bit HDR output at 4K and 1080p as “coming soon.” The materials therefore do not establish that 4K and 1080p HDR output is available to every user at launch.
Kling 4.0 is integrated with Kling MCP and CLI, according to Kuaishou, allowing creators to use features such as Omni Reference and keyframe-to-video generation through AI agents. The company says API access for enterprise customers and developers is also coming soon. Its announcement focuses on capabilities and intended uses in film, television, short dramas, animation and advertising, but does not give pricing, API launch dates or a feature-by-feature access schedule.
The rollout began before the official launch
Kling AI’s September 30 announcement said Kling 4.0 was entering early access and that a wider rollout would come in October. It separately said Kling 4.0 Flash would be available to Ultra Yearly subscribers starting September 28. Kuaishou dates the official Kling 4.0 launch to October 15, but its later release does not spell out how that wider rollout maps to regions or account plans.
For creators, the clearest distinction is between what Kuaishou identifies as available—30-second single-pass generation, reference controls and MCP and CLI integration—and features it says are still forthcoming, including two-minute extension and API access. The company has not published launch pricing or a detailed access matrix in the materials announcing Kling 4.0.