Model Tracker
GPT-5.1-Codex-Max
GPT-5.1-Codex-Max is an AI model made by OpenAI. OpenAI released it on 19 November 2025. OpenAI retired it on 23 July 2026.
In inglese
GPT-5.1-Codex-Max is an AI model made by OpenAI. OpenAI released it on 19 November 2025. OpenAI retired it on 23 July 2026. It takes text, image and returns text. Its context window is 400,000 tokens. Its longest answer is 128,000 tokens. Its knowledge cutoff is 30 September 2024.
- Released
- 19 November 2025 — openai.com, read 19 October 2026
- Status
- Not confirmed: two readings disagree: retired and deprecated
- Takes
- Text, Image — developers.openai.com, read 19 October 2026
- Returns
- Text — developers.openai.com, read 19 October 2026
- Open weights
- Not confirmed: OpenAI's model and system-card pages do not state whether this model's weights are open.
- Licence
- Not confirmed: OpenAI's pages do not name a licence for this model.
- Context window
- 400,000 tokens — developers.openai.com, read 19 October 2026
- Longest answer
- 128,000 tokens — developers.openai.com, read 19 October 2026
- Knowledge cutoff
- 30 September 2024 — developers.openai.com, read 19 October 2026
- API price, input
- Not confirmed: The current API pricing page does not list this model. Its model page displays an input price, but does not state an as-of date, so the standard API price cannot be confirmed under the register's pricing rule.
- API price, output
- Not confirmed: The current API pricing page does not list this model. Its model page displays an output price, but does not state an as-of date, so the standard API price cannot be confirmed under the register's pricing rule.
- Where
- Not confirmed: two readings disagree: api and api, app
- Parameters
- Not confirmed: OpenAI's pages do not publish a parameter count for this model.
- Model card
- Not confirmed: two readings disagree: https://deploymentsafety.openai.com/gpt-5-1-codex-max and https://openai.com/index/gpt-5-1-codex-max-system-card/
Questions
When was GPT-5.1-Codex-Max released?
OpenAI released GPT-5.1-Codex-Max on 19 November 2025.
What is the context window of GPT-5.1-Codex-Max?
The context window of GPT-5.1-Codex-Max is 400,000 tokens, as OpenAI prints it.
What does GPT-5.1-Codex-Max take and return?
GPT-5.1-Codex-Max takes text, image and returns text.
What is the knowledge cutoff of GPT-5.1-Codex-Max?
The knowledge cutoff of GPT-5.1-Codex-Max is 30 September 2024.
More from OpenAI
- ada
- babbage
- babbage-002
- code-davinci-002
- computer-use-preview
- curie
- dall-e-3
- DALL·E
- DALL·E 2
- davinci
- davinci-002
- GPT-3.5 Turbo
- GPT-3.5 Turbo Instruct
- GPT-4
- GPT-4 Turbo
- GPT-4.1
- GPT-4.1 mini
- GPT-4.1 nano
- GPT-4.5
- GPT-4.5 Preview
- GPT-4o
- GPT-4o mini
- GPT-4o Mini Search Preview
- GPT-4o Mini Transcribe
Sources
- Building more with GPT-5.1-Codex-Max (read 19 October 2026)
- GPT-5.1-Codex-Max Model (read 19 October 2026)
- Deprecations (read 19 October 2026)
- Pricing (read 19 October 2026)
- GPT-5.1-Codex-Max System Card (read 19 October 2026)